SendTech Times
News
MARKET SIGNAL:

Sony Wins OCC Conditional Trust Charter For Stablecoin Unit

Newsroom brief

Sony disclosed that the OCC has conditionally approved a U.S. national trust bank for Connectia Trust, a Sony Financial Group subsidiary that would issue and manage dollar-denominated stablecoins. Sony said the unit will be capitalised at $40 million, while trade groups and consumer advocates objected to the charter path.

Verified against source materialEdited by SendTech Times Fintech DeskSource: Banking Dive
Sony Wins OCC Conditional Trust Charter For Stablecoin Unit
Image source: Banking Dive

The Office of the Comptroller of the Currency has conditionally approved Sony’s plan to establish a U.S. national trust bank, giving the Japanese conglomerate a charter route for a stablecoin venture that banking groups and consumer advocates challenged months earlier.

The approval covers Connectia Trust, a subsidiary of Sony Financial Group that Sony plans to form this month.

The company said Connectia will be capitalized at $40 million and prepared for the issuance and management of U.S. dollar-denominated stablecoins in the United States.

Sony has not identified a representative to lead the trust.

International Business Times reported that the company is preparing to launch Connectia in 2027.

Sony’s disclosure did not specify which products the trust would offer or whether it would serve retail or institutional customers.

Charter and operating plan

Sony disclosed the OCC’s conditional approval on Monday.

The company is establishing Connectia “in preparation for the commercialization of businesses related to the issuance and management of U.S. dollar-denominated stablecoins in the United States.”

Sony was required to disclose the licensing development to a local finance bureau under Japan’s Financial Instruments and Exchange Act because Connectia’s $40 million capitalization exceeds 10% of Sony Financial Group’s capital, according to Tokyo Brief.

The approval comes as interest in national trust-bank charters has increased under OCC chief Jonathan Gould.

Recent applicants have included crypto companies Circle, Ripple and Paxos, which were among the first wave of recent trust-bank approvals in December.

Morgan Stanley has also sought a trust charter for a new offshoot.

Objections to the trust-bank model

Sony’s application became public in October and drew objections from the Bank Policy Institute, the Independent Community Bankers of America and the National Community Reinvestment Coalition.

The NCRC argued that granting trust charters to stablecoin issuers would blur the statutory boundaries of what constitutes a bank.

The organization said the charter could provide Connectia with “the reputational benefits, enhanced market credibility and federal regulatory status of a banking institution” without many of the obligations attached to those privileges.

A trust bank would not be required to comply with the Community Reinvestment Act, the NCRC said.

The ICBA said it also would not be required to hold deposit insurance, creating a risk of consumer “confusion” and “harm” if the company became insolvent.

“The OCC’s untested receivership framework is wholly unequipped to resolve an uninsured, systemically significant stablecoin issuer like Connectia risking permanent customer losses and market contagion,” the ICBA said in November.

The NCRC described the arrangement as a potential “two-tier system” in which digital-asset firms receive comparable federal status without comparable public obligations.

The BPI said the application raised questions about the longstanding separation of banking and commerce.

Conditions and unresolved scope

Roman Goldstein, a senior director at financial-services advisory firm Klaros Group, wrote on LinkedIn that the OCC had not avoided the banking-and-commerce objections but had instead concluded that the law permits the integration.

He called Sony’s venture the “first commercial-conglomerate ecosystem bank.”

Goldstein noted that the OCC would supervise Connectia while Japan’s Financial Services Agency supervises Sony’s parent bank, describing it as “a foreign-owned bank with no Fed in the picture.” He also said the OCC imposed a condition allowing it to require Sony’s subsidiary to appoint a full-time, non-dual-role CFO at any point.

During the public-comment period, one commenter argued that a national bank could not receive certain deposits or collection instruments through its trust department and that the restriction applied to stablecoins.

Goldstein wrote that the OCC responded that Connectia’s stablecoins would not be deposits or checks because they would operate in a closed-loop payment system.

Goldstein added that the reasoning did not address how the restriction would apply to stablecoins on public chains.

Connectia’s first products, customer base, public-chain design and final launch timing remain undisclosed.

Share this article
inXf

Related articles

More
World Liberty Gets Conditional OCC Charter For USD1 Stablecoin
Fintech & Digital Payments

World Liberty Gets Conditional OCC Charter For USD1 Stablecoin

The OCC granted preliminary conditional approval for World Liberty Trust Company, giving the Trump-linked crypto venture a trust-bank path to issue and redeem USD1.

OCC Approval Moves World Liberty Stablecoin Bank Plan To Preopening Tests
Fintech & Digital Payments

OCC Approval Moves World Liberty Stablecoin Bank Plan To Preopening Tests

The OCC gave preliminary conditional approval to World Liberty Trust Company, National Association, moving the USD1 stablecoin bank plan into a preopening stage that still requires final authorization before the bank can start business.

Taiwan Crypto Law Sets FSC Licences And 100% Stablecoin Reserves
Fintech & Digital Payments

Taiwan Crypto Law Sets FSC Licences And 100% Stablecoin Reserves

CoinDesk reported that Taiwan approved the Virtual Asset Service Act, requiring crypto platforms to obtain FSC licenses while stablecoin operators face central-bank approval and 100% reserves. The law sets penalties, but the start date and first approvals remain unnamed.

South Africa Draft Pulls Offshore Crypto Into Exchange Controls
Fintech & Digital Payments

South Africa Draft Pulls Offshore Crypto Into Exchange Controls

Ledger Insights reported that South Africa’s central bank has proposed a crypto asset manual that would restrict corporate offshore stablecoin and cryptocurrency flows while keeping individual transfers inside exchange-control reporting limits.

SBI Takes Majority Control Of Coinhako After MAS Approval
Fintech & Digital Payments

SBI Takes Majority Control Of Coinhako After MAS Approval

e27 reported that SBI Holdings acquired a majority stake in Singapore crypto exchange Coinhako after MAS approval, using a capital injection and share purchase to turn the platform into a consolidated subsidiary. Financial terms and product timelines were not disclosed.

Treasury Stablecoin Rule Sets 2027 Licensing Test for US Sales
Fintech & Digital Payments

Treasury Stablecoin Rule Sets 2027 Licensing Test for US Sales

A Treasury proposal would define which stablecoins can be issued or sold in the United States, with issuer licensing starting in 2027 and broader platform-sale restrictions in 2028.

FTC Orders Celsius Founders To Pay $16.5 Million Over Crypto Deposit Claims
Fintech & Digital Payments

FTC Orders Celsius Founders To Pay $16.5 Million Over Crypto Deposit Claims

A July 20 Federal Trade Commission settlement puts $16.5 million in Celsius founder payments alongside bans on deposit and crypto-trading products, with court approval still required.

Crypto Clarity Act Delay Pushes Senate Negotiations To September
Fintech & Digital Payments

Crypto Clarity Act Delay Pushes Senate Negotiations To September

CoinDesk wrote that the Senate delay on the Clarity Act may avoid a damaging August procedural defeat while lawmakers continue negotiating ethics, stablecoin yield and enforcement provisions.

Keep Reading

More Stories

Latest
Kepler Targets 2027 Production for HBM Replacement MemoryCloud & Data CentersOct 6, 2026Kepler Targets 2027 Production for HBM Replacement MemoryEE Times reports that Kepler Computing is preparing 3D ferroelectric memory for 2027 production, promising higher capacity and bandwidth per watt while limiting reliance on advanced-node lithography.Yokogawa Opens Singapore Hub For Industrial Cyber ResilienceCapital & PolicyOct 6, 2026Yokogawa Opens Singapore Hub For Industrial Cyber ResilienceYokogawa Engineering Asia has launched a Singapore center focused on OT cyber resilience, training, response planning and recovery coordination for Southeast Asia, Oceania and Taiwan.ClickFix Attack Uses Browser Cache To Hide Malware PayloadCybersecurityOct 6, 2026ClickFix Attack Uses Browser Cache To Hide Malware PayloadMicrosoft Threat Intelligence traced a ClickFix cache-smuggling method that preloads malware into browser caches, then uses file size checks and a pasted Run command to launch later credential-theft stages.VOA Tests Six-Month Startup Buildout Before Funding DecisionsFintech & Digital PaymentsOct 6, 2026VOA Tests Six-Month Startup Buildout Before Funding DecisionsTechCabal’s interview with VOA Venture Partners founder Victoria Olayide Adesanya describes a six-month build programme that lets the firm work inside African financial-infrastructure startups before deciding whether to invest.Bitcoin Holds $86,000 As Dollar Index Hits 18-Month HighCrypto/Web3Oct 6, 2026Bitcoin Holds $86,000 As Dollar Index Hits 18-Month HighCoinDesk reported that bitcoin stayed near $86,000 while the U.S. Dollar Index reached about 102.5, with U.S. rate expectations and European political risks strengthening the dollar backdrop.Google Freezes OSS Bug Bounty Reports After AI Submission FloodCybersecurityOct 6, 2026Google Freezes OSS Bug Bounty Reports After AI Submission FloodGoogle has stopped accepting new product vulnerability reports in its OSS VRP after invalid automated submissions swamped reviewers, while older reports and some Cloud VRP routes remain open.Fleuret AI Raises €4M For Continuous AI Pentesting PlatformCybersecurityOct 6, 2026Fleuret AI Raises €4M For Continuous AI Pentesting PlatformTech.eu reported that French startup Fleuret AI raised €4 million in pre-seed funding to develop an agentic-AI platform that turns penetration testing into a continuous security process.GFT Analysis Says AI Documentation Can Cut Maintenance Work 30%Fintech & Digital PaymentsOct 6, 2026GFT Analysis Says AI Documentation Can Cut Maintenance Work 30%A GFT Technologies analysis says AI-linked software documentation can cut maintenance effort and speed developer onboarding when knowledge assets stay synchronized with code changes.Schneider Electric Lines Up $22.6 Billion PTC DealAIOct 5, 2026Schneider Electric Lines Up $22.6 Billion PTC DealSchneider Electric plans to buy PTC in a cash transaction valuing the US engineering software provider’s equity at about $22.6 billion, adding product-lifecycle software to its industrial AI push.Aggarwal Pledges Ola Electric Stake To Fund ₹1,000 Cr Rights IssueCapital & PolicyOct 5, 2026Aggarwal Pledges Ola Electric Stake To Fund ₹1,000 Cr Rights IssueOla Electric founder Bhavish Aggarwal pledged 20 Cr shares to finance his participation in a rights issue that forms part of a larger ₹1,500 Cr fundraising plan.Natrona Schools AI Review Puts Student Privacy Ahead Of Classroom Tool UseAIOct 5, 2026Natrona Schools AI Review Puts Student Privacy Ahead Of Classroom Tool UseNatrona County trustees questioned whether teacher AI tools expose student data, even as existing district rules already ban unauthorized generative AI use by students.AMD Prices 256-Core EPYC 9996 At $14,904 For Server BuyersChips & SemiconductorsOct 5, 2026AMD Prices 256-Core EPYC 9996 At $14,904 For Server BuyersTechRadar reports that AMD’s 6th Gen EPYC 9006 “Venice” lineup includes a 256-core EPYC 9996 with 512 threads, 1GB of L3 cache, a 600W default power rating and a $14,904 list price for 1,000-unit orders.